Thursday, October 31, 2013

Happy Halloween Ya'll!


I hope that you all have a happy and safe Halloween! It's suppose to be rainy and yucky in my part of the world so we're making home made pizza and I will try to resist eating copious amounts of candy. I always get carried away and buy too much!

Now, what's Halloween without a little It's the Great Pumpkin Charlie Brown?
Enjoy!


Wednesday, October 30, 2013

KGI #9 Announcement by Maya Banks


For all of you KGI Series fans Maya Banks just announced on Facebook that the next book will feature Swanny. No title or possible release date yet, but I'll keep a watch out for further news! Here's what she had to say:

Safe in His Arms by Renee Rose Review



Cover Art Work Reveal Factions: Coup D E'tat by Marian York



Factions: Coup d’Etat by Marian York
 A new Urban Fantasy, Dystopia novel  to be released
 November 21, 2013 by 
 The Zharmae Publishing Press (Zharmae.com) 

Book Description:  

Factions: Coup d’Etat, by Marian York, is a gripping urban fantasy novel, a dark and often frightening portrayal of a world torn by greed, the lust for power, and divergent personal loyalties.

Four factions rule the great city of Axis and fight for increased control and power. Everything is at stake and every strategy, no matter how desperate or questionable must be considered. Will Minya’s orchestration of forced genetic enhancements on the Leinka faction continue unabated or will Minya, always resolutely loyal to Leinka, seek outside help to alter that course and risk her faction’s dissolution? Every choice will either alter the path to peace or enter a new path to destruction

About the Author:


Hi!  This is Marian York talking to you directly.  So here's some info about me:
I was born and raised in East Texas.  My dad's a freelance artist and guitar teacher who spent a lot of time making up stories for me and my brothers to enjoy.  Mom has a love for books that she passed down to me and she truly inspired me, with her love of literature, to write.
Since I can remember, I've loved video games, anime, and graphic novels.  Their influence can be greatly seen and felt in my work, I believe, and I remain an avid gamer and fan of certain anime.  I love the snow and falling leaves... my favorite season is Fall and Halloween is probably the holiday I look forward to most every year.  If you want to know more about me, check out my blog or drop me a line!



Tuesday, October 29, 2013

The Hathor Legacy: Outcast by Deborah Bailey


The Deadly Series Boxed Set by Jaycee Clark Review


Beautiful Player, After Dead, & Dark Witch Released Today



#3 In the popular Beautiful Bastard Series is released today for only $4.74. This is the hottest of the 3 big releases and definitely the best priced!

Book Description:

A bombshell bookworm. A chronic Casanova. And a lesson in chemistry too scandalous for school.

When Hanna Bergstrom receives a lecture from her overprotective brother about neglecting her social life and burying herself in grad school, she’s determined to tackle his implied assignment: get out, make friends, start dating. And who better to turn her into the sultry siren every man wants than her brother’s gorgeous best friend, Will Sumner, venture capitalist and unapologetic playboy?

Will takes risks for a living, but he’s skeptical about this challenge of Hanna’s…until the wild night his innocently seductive pupil tempts him into bed- and teaches him a thing or two about being with a woman he can’t forget. Now that Hanna’s discovered the power of her own sex appeal, it’s up to Will to prove he’s the only man she’ll ever need.



What Came Next is released today and selling for $9.78.

Book Description:

Dead Ever After marked the end of the Sookie Stackhouse novels—a series that garnered millions of fans and spawned the hit HBO television show True Blood. It also stoked a hunger that will never die…a hunger to know what happened next.

With characters arranged alphabetically—from the Ancient Pythoness to Bethany Zanelli—bestselling author Charlaine Harris takes fans into the future of their favorite residents of Bon Temps and environs. You’ll learn how Michele and Jason’s marriage fared, what happened to Sookie’s cousin Hunter, and whether Tara and JB’s twins grew up to be solid citizens.

This coda provides the answers to your lingering questions—including details of Sookie’s own happily-ever-after…

The book will feature extensive interior art by acclaimed Sookie artist Lisa Desimini, including a Sookieverse Alphabet, color endpapers, and several full-page black and white interior illustrations.




Released today and selling for $7.99.

Book Description:

First in the all-new Cousins O’Dwyer Trilogy

From #1 New York Times bestselling author Nora Roberts comes a trilogy about the land we’re drawn to, the family we learn to cherish, and the people we long to love…

With indifferent parents, Iona Sheehan grew up craving devotion and acceptance. From her maternal grandmother, she learned where to find both: a land of lush forests, dazzling lakes, and centuries-old legends.

Ireland.

County Mayo, to be exact. Where her ancestors’ blood and magic have flowed through generations—and where her destiny awaits.

Iona arrives in Ireland with nothing but her Nan’s directions, an unfailingly optimistic attitude, and an innate talent with horses. Not far from the luxurious castle where she is spending a week, she finds her cousins, Branna and Connor O’Dwyer. And since family is family, they invite her into their home and their lives.

When Iona lands a job at the local stables, she meets the owner, Boyle McGrath. Cowboy, pirate, wild tribal horsemen, he’s three of her biggest fantasy weaknesses all in one big, bold package.

Iona realizes that here she can make a home for herself—and live her life as she wants, even if that means falling head over heels for Boyle. But nothing is as it seems. An ancient evil has wound its way around Iona’s family tree and must be defeated. Family and friends will fight with each other and for each other to keep the promise of hope—and love—alive…

Don’t miss the next two books in the Cousins O’Dwyer Trilogy

Shadow Spell
and
Blood Magick 

Breathe (Colorado Mountain Series #4) by Kristen Ashley Review


Celestial Beginnings by Rebekah Daniels Review


Monday, October 28, 2013

Yours to Keep by Serena Bell Review



Burning Dawn by Gena Showalter Cover Reveal




The cover for the much anticipated Burning Dawn has been revealed on Showalter's Facebook Page. You can click here to see what else is happening on her page.  This is book 3 and is not due to be released 
until April 29, 2014 so you have time to read books 1 & 2 before it's release.

Amazon Book Description:

New York Times bestselling author Gena Showalter returns with a sizzling Angels of the Dark tale about a winged warrior renowned for his ruthlessness, and the woman who becomes his obsession….

A tormented past has left Thane with an insatiable need for violence, making him the most dangerous assassin in the skies. He lives by a single code: no mercy. And as he unleashes his fury on his most recent captor, he learns no battle could have prepared him for the slave he rescues from his enemy's clutches—a beauty who stokes the fires of his darkest desires.


Elin Vale has her own deep-rooted scars, and her attraction to the exquisite warrior who freed her challenges her every boundary. But Thane's unwavering determination to protect her means she must face her greatest fears—and enter a world in which passion is power, and victory means breathtaking surrender.

Enjoy!
Monlat

Wolf of Descarta Cover Reveal


Title: The Wolf of Descarta 
Author: Daniel Pike
Release Date: November 21, 2013
Series: The Dream Box
Genre: Sci-Fi /Fantasy
Publisher: The Zharmae Publishing Press (Zharmae.com)

Book Description:

Jaren Reese is just another red collar trapped at the bottom of Descarta’s genetic caste system. But in the Dream Box, he has forged a new digital identity for himself: Balmus, the Wolf Knight.

Balmus has long since carried a torch for the Linker Petra, but he doesn’t know her, not really. Outside of the Dream Box she is just another one of his fantasies. But Brea Morgen is the real thing– a living, breathing person who desires Jaren for who he truly is, not merely what he pretends to be. 

When the Dream Box that Jaren depends on crashes due to the evolution of a hostile A.I. life form, a secret military branch commissions a team of gamers and hackers to go back into the corrupted Dream Box to eliminate the threat and Jaren is given the chance of a lifetime—though it comes at a price—and Jaren now needs to decide just how much he’s willing to lose because the war about to be waged will be one on two fronts - the corporeal and the virtual.


About the Author:

Daniel Pike is a high school English teacher, author, blogger, and father of two energetic daughters, Aurie and Kiera. He holds a Bachelor of Arts in English Literature from ASU as well as his Masters in Education. His first novel, Repressed Memories, was written when he was 17 years old and high on anime. He openly admits that most of the writing took place in his Algebra class. We may forgive him for that. 

His most recent offerings include The Wolf of Descarta, book one in his Dream Box Trilogy 

You can find Danial at:

On his Web Page at Pike Knight
On Twitter @PikeKnight
and on 
Facebook at Danial Pike



Sunday, October 27, 2013

Away For A Day


Happy Sunday Everyone!

I am officially taking the day off to spend time with the family and hopefully I will get some more reading done. There's some big releases this week so I need to rest up so that I'm able to handle all of the excitement!

Laters-
Monlat

Written In My Own Heart's Blood Excerpts (#6) by Diana Gabaldon


As always you can go to Gabaldon's Facebook page by clicking here to find more.

Posted October 23rd:

I got hold of the girl by the non-wounded arm and sat her down on the stool, hastily pouring most of what remained in my brandy bottle into a cup. She didn’t look as though she had much blood left.

She didn’t. When I got the scarf off, I discovered that her hand was missing, and the forearm badly mangled. She hadn’t bled to death only because someone had twined a belt round her upper arm and fastened the tourniquet tight with a stick thrust through it. It had been a long time since I’d fainted at sight of anything, and I didn’t now, but did have one brief moment when the world shifted under my feet.

“How did you do that, sweetheart?” I asked, as calmly as possible. “Here, drink this.”

“I—grenade,” she whispered. Her head was turned away, not to see the arm, but I guided the cup to her lips and she drank, gulping the mix of brandy and water.

“She--he picked it up,” said a low, choked voice at my elbow. One of the other Continentals was back. “It rolled by my foot and he—she picked it up.”

The girl turned her head at his voice, and I saw his anguished look.

“She came into the army because of you, I suppose?” Clearly the arm would have to be amputated; there was nothing below the elbow that could be saved, and to leave it in this state was to doom her to death by infection or gangrene.

“No, I didn’t!” The girl said, huffing for breath. “Phil—“ She gulped air and twisted her head to look toward the trees. “He tried to make me go with him. Loyalist c-camp…follower. Wouldn’t.” With so little blood remaining in her body, she was having trouble getting enough oxygen. I refilled the cup and made her drink again; she emerged from it spluttering and swaying, but more alert. “I’m a patriot!”

Posted October 24th:

“Mm.” Jenny was already deep in the armoire, picking through my gowns. “What about this one? It’s got a deep d√©colletage, and your bosom’s still verra good.”

“I’m not meaning to seduce the man!”

“Oh, yes ye are,” she said matter-of-factly. “Or at least distract him. If ye’re no going to tell him the truth, I mean.” One sleek black eyebrow lifted. “If I were a British general and was told that my wee colonel had been abducted by a wicked great Hieland man, I think I might take it amiss.”

I couldn’t really contradict this piece of reasoning, and with a brief shrug, wriggled my way into the amber silk, which had cream-colored piping in the seams and ruched cream ribbons outlining the edge of the bodice.

“Oh, aye, that’s good,” Jenny said, tying my laces and stepping back to eye the effect with approval. “The ribbon’s near the same color as your skin, so the neck looks even lower than it is.”

“One would think you’d spent the last thirty years running a dressmaker’s salon or a brothel, rather than a farm,” I remarked, nervousness making me rather cross. She snorted.

“I’ve got three daughters, nine grand-daughters, and there’s sixteen nieces and great-nieces on Ian’s sister’s side. It’s often much the same sort o’ thing.”

That made me laugh, and she grinned at me. Then I was blinking back tears, and so was she—the thought of Brianna and of Ian, our lost ones, coming suddenly—and then we were embracing, holding hard to each other to keep grief at bay.

“It’s all right,” she whispered, hugging me fiercely. “Ye’ve not lost your lass. She’s still alive. And Ian’s still wi’ me. He’ll never go from my side.”

“I know,” I said, choked. “I know.” I let go and straightened up, smudging tears away with a finger, sniffing. “Have you got a handkerchief?”

She had one in her hand, in fact, but reached into the pocket at her waist and pulled out another, freshly washed and folded, which she handed me.

“I’m a grannie,” she said, and blew her nose vigorously. “I’ve _always_ got a spare hankie. Or three. Now, what about your hair? Ye canna be going out in the street like _that_.”


Saturday, October 26, 2013

Inside Out Series Being Developed for TV & If I Were You Excerpt


This is yet another popular series that I have not gotten around to reading. Ms Jones has this posted on her Facebook page so you can click here to hop on over there and see what's going on with the Inside Out Series getting turned into a TV series. It looks like television will be getting better soon. Jones also has a story featured in a holiday compilation that is due to be released on October 28th.





Now here's an excerpt from If I Were You (Book 1) just in case you are like me and haven't read the series yet this may help to spur you into picking it up.

I am still standing in the middle of Chris Merit’s display, in stunned disbelief, when something snaps inside me. I am hot and confused and feeling like the world is spinning around me. I’ve spent money I don’t have on the ticket for the night, but I can’t get out of this gallery fast enough. I run for the door, not literally, but I might as well be. This heat I feel is unexplainable, considering the gallery is chilly, and I need air desperately. I need to think. I need to figure out what is going on inside me, because it is nothing I know as familiar.

Exiting to the street, I welcome the cool night air washing over me. I turn quickly to my left and intend to head for my car, when the strap of my purse catches and snags on the brick of the building and somehow it snaps open. The contents spill to the ground. With exasperation, I squat, trying to retrieve my items. This is so my life and there is a tiny part of me comforted by my familiar clumsiness, by something that feels like me. I mean, who else, can manage to catch their purse on a wall of all things?

“Need some help?”

My gaze shoots upward to find Chris Merit at eye level and for a rare moment in time, I can’t find the words to ramble with my nerves. While I’d felt comfortable with him inside the gallery, I am dumbstruck now that I know who he is. He is brilliant. He is also incredibly good looking, and squatting down on the ground with me, which somehow feels wrong. This night has me feeling as if I am in the twilight zone. There is no other explanation for how bizarre it is.

“I...ah...no,” I manage. “Thank you. I got it. It’s a little purse. Doesn’t hold much.” I scoop up my lipstick and a tiny wallet, and slide them back inside the bag, before pushing to my feet.

He grabs my keys and stands, towering over my five feet four inches by a good foot. I hadn’t realized how tall he was when he’d been sitting beside me at the Ricco event, or how earthy and deliciously male he smells, but the wind lifts and the scent tickles my nose. He is different from Mark, not so sophisticated and debonair, more raw, and yes, like his scent, earthy.

He gives me another one of those devastating smiles he’d used on me in the gallery and dangles my keys in the air.
“You might need these to go wherever you’re going so fast.”

“Thank you,” I say and accept them. His fingers brush mine and electricity charges up my arm, across my chest, and steals my breath. My eyes meet his, and I see awareness in the deep green depths of his stare. Only, I’m not sure if it’s the same kind of awareness I feel. Maybe, it’s simply that I hide my feelings horribly and he now knows I’m reacting to him, and it amuses him.

“You’re leaving early,” he comments, his hands going to his hips, which pushes back his blazer enough for me to see the stretch of his black t-shirt across his impressive chest. I approve, as I’m sure the rest of the female population does as well.

“Yes,” I say and jerk my attention to his face, to a full mouth that has me a bit breathless, but then everything has me breathless tonight, it seems. ”I need to get home.”

“Why don’t I walk you to your car?”

He wants to walk me to my car. I’m not sure why he would want to do that. He doesn’t even know me. Is it possible that he felt that same electricity I did, or do I amuse him and he wants to continue the entertainment? Mark did say he has a strange sense of humor. “Why didn’t you tell me who you are?” I blurt, not liking the idea of being a joke.
His lips quirk. “Because then you would have told me you loved my work even if you hated it.”

My brows dip. I’m not sure how I feel about that. “That’s sneaky.”

“It spared you the awkwardness of pretending to like my work.”

“There wouldn’t have been any awkwardness. I like your work.”

“And I like that you like my work,” he approves, a warm glow in his eyes. “So...shall I walk you to your car?”

My escape has been further waylaid, but I’m not sure that is a bad thing anymore. “Okay,” I squeak, appalled at my lack of voice. There is a reason I don’t date much. I’m horrible at it. I get shy and I pick the wrong men, who use both of those very things against me. Dominant, controlling men, who seem to turn me on in the bedroom, and off in real life. It’s genetic. I’m quite certain that had I a sister, she would have been just as foolish about men as myself and as my mother had been. And while Chris, at first impression, doesn’t strike me as arrogant or controlling, his failure to tell me who he was earlier in the evening was in fact a way of controlling my reaction. Not that I think he is interested in me. I’m over-analyzing and I know it. Chris Merit could have his choice of women, and in fact, probably has. He doesn’t need to add little ol’ me to the list.

Jamie Fraser: A Snapshot from Outlander Series & Updates


The Outlander Facebook page has released a great image of  
 Sam Heughan dressed out as Jamie. It's good right? I can't wait for this show to start. It will be like counting down to Christmas. 



Other casting news just in case you missed it:


Caitriona Balfe will play Claire Elizabeth Beauchamp Randall Fraser
I think that she's perfect!


Lotte Verbeek will be Geillis Duncan.


Laura Donnelly will play Jenny Fraser Murray.


Perfect!


Tobias Menzies will play Frank/”Black Jack” Randall

You can go to Outlander's Facebook page by clicking here to see what else is happening with the development of the show.

Enjoy!
Monlat

Thursday, October 24, 2013

Big Girl Panties by Stephanie Evanovich


Jamie Dornman To Play Christian Grey




Well, they have recast the role of Christian Grey and Jamie Dornman of Once Upon a Time is the choice. He is not what I pictured Christian to look like in my mind, but I am going to try and stay open. I'm not overly happy with the choice, but who knows, he could end up being amazing. Alexander Skarsgard's name was being thrown around and that made me happy. I am a big fan of the way her portrayed Eric, but he may have just been a little too old for the role of Christian. If you would like to read the Huffington Post's article you can click here to check it out. So what do you think? Yea or nae?


Okay, maybe I was too quick to judge...He's totally sexy.

Wednesday, October 23, 2013

Shifters Unbound Series by Jennifer Ashley



Alanna, sister to a Fae prince, is sent on a thankless mission--to return to medieval Ireland and coerce a Shifter to craft an incredible sword. Niall O’Connell, master sword maker of the old Kingdom of Ciarra√≠, hates Fae, resenting the time when Shifters were little better than Fae slaves. But Alanna's heartbreaking story and her beauty are difficult to resist. Together, she and Niall forge a sword that changes Shifter history, at the same time forging an unbreakable bond between themselves.

This novella is prequel to the Shifters Unbound series, a standalone story that tells how the Sword of the Guardian came to be.

Tuesday, October 22, 2013

Sneak Peek with 5 Revelations from After Dead by Charlaine Harris


Book Description:

Dead Ever After marked the end of the Sookie Stackhouse novels—a series that garnered millions of fans and spawned the hit HBO television show True Blood. It also stoked a hunger that will never die…a hunger to know what happened next.

With characters arranged alphabetically—from the Ancient Pythoness to Bethany Zanelli—bestselling author Charlaine Harris takes fans into the future of their favorite residents of Bon Temps and environs. You’ll learn how Michele and Jason’s marriage fared, what happened to Sookie’s cousin Hunter, and whether Tara and JB’s twins grew up to be solid citizens.

This coda provides the answers to your lingering questions—including details of Sookie’s own happily-ever-after…

The book will feature extensive interior art by acclaimed Sookie artist Lisa Desimini, including a Sookieverse Alphabet, color endpapers, and several full-page black and white interior illustrations.



This addition is due to be released on October 29th, but the B & N Book Blog has a sneak peek into what's revealed and you can read the 5 listed by clicking here. I know some of you are still a little peeved or still royally p'd off about how the series ended, but if you are still a die hard fan this little blurb should make you giggle. I found it funny and I hope will too!

Laters-
Monlat

Black and Blue (Otherworld Assassin Series) by Gena Showalter

Lady Luck (Colorado Mountain Series #3) by Kristen Ashley Review


Theirs to Keep (Tangled Hearts Trilogy Book 1) by Maya Banks


Dead Sexy by Paige Tyler Review



Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...