Monday, August 26, 2013

Wizard's First Rule (Sword of Truth #1) by Terry Goodkind Review

This is another epic sized fantasy series that I absolutely loved. Goodkind has created a fantasy world of magic, adventure, turmoil, and yes, even love. This is a series of 10 books and I enjoyed each and every one. Goodkind's world of wizards, confessors, dragons, dream walkers, and various human characters that are both good and evil is spellbinding. The entertainment value of these books was off the charts for me. The characters and story lines are so complex and rich in each book that I couldn't stop and read anything else between them; I literally ended one and opened the next. 

Wizard's First Rule begins with the story of Richard Cypher, a forest guide whose destiny is about to find him when he crosses paths with Kahlan Amnell, a confessor who has come through the barrier that separates their two worlds in order to find the Seeker that will help to save both their worlds. This is an older series and there are plenty of reviews both positive and negative out there so here is an easy way for you to decide whether or not you will want to read this series. If you don't like really long books, this is not for you as I believe each book is over 500 pages. If you don't like complicated characters, this is not for you. If you don't like having lots of secondary characters with interesting backgrounds and story lines of their own, this is not for you. If you don't enjoy magic and worlds with a myriad variety of creatures, this is not for you. If you don't want a series that goes on for more than 3 or 4 books, this is not for you. If you are looking for a book with a lot of sex and little story, this is not for you. Now, if you are like me and a little on the geeky/nerdy side and you love all of the aforementioned attributes in your reading choices and you have somehow missed this series, go to your favorite book seller as quickly as possible and get the first book in his series. Just please don't curse my name if you find yourself still flipping pages at 2 in the morning!

Happy Reading!


P.S. Please no matter what you do, do NOT go find the T.V. series online and watch it, it will ruin your day. You've been properly warned...



In the aftermath of the brutal murder of his father, a mysterious woman, Kahlan Amnell, appears in Richard Cypher's forest sanctuary seeking help . . . and more. His world, his very beliefs, are shattered when ancient debts come due with thundering violence.

In a dark age it takes courage to live, and more than mere courage to challenge those who hold dominion, Richard and Kahlan must take up that challenge or become the next victims. Beyond awaits a bewitching land where even the best of their hearts could betray them. Yet, Richard fears nothing so much as what secrets his sword might reveal about his own soul. Falling in love would destroy them--for reasons Richard can't imagine and Kahlan dare not say.
In their darkest hour, hunted relentlessly, tormented by treachery and loss, Kahlan calls upon Richard to reach beyond his sword--to invoke within himself something more noble. Neither knows that the rules of battle have just changed . . . or that their time has run out.

This is the beginning. One book. One Rule. Witness the birth of a legend.

This series in reading order:

Wizard's First Rule (Sword of Truth #1)
Stone of Tears (The Sword of Truth #2)
Blood of the Fold (The Sword of Truth #3)
Temple of the Winds (The Sword of Truth #4)
Soul of the Fire (The Sword of Truth #5)
Faith of the Fallen (Sword of Truth #6)
The Pillars of Creation (Sword of Truth #7)
Naked Empire (Sword of Truth #8)
Chainfire (Sword of Truth #9)
Phantom (Sword of Truth #10)
Confessor (Sword of Truth #11)

No comments:

Post a Comment

Find Book Goodness (I'm an Amazon Affiliate!)