Thursday, March 13, 2014

Bite Me (The Pride Series Book 9) by Shelly Laurenston Review

If you are a fan of paranormal romance and have not experienced the joy of reading a Shelly Laurenston book, you are definitely missing out! Laurenston writes entertaining paranormal reads that are fun to read and is threaded through with surprisingly poignant and insightful moments. Laurenston's writing style is laced with a wickedly naughty sense of humor and the ability to suck the reader into a made up world that would be fantastic if it were real and her latest effort, Bite Me, is no exception. 

I didn't know much about honey badgers before reading this book, but I'm telling you that you don't want to cross one! If they are anything like their shifter brethren I would give them wide berth.  Livy's mother is a piece of work and is not afraid to handle her business at a funeral with her fists. Looking for a party where they serve alcohol laced with poison to add that certain je ne sais quoi? Go party with a honey badger! Want to toughen up those kids who are getting a little soft with all of the luxuries of modern life? Send them to your honey badger neighbor where they can play out back with a few dozen poisonous snakes. That'll learn 'em! You didn't know they were such hard core creatures did you? Yeah, neither did I. 

As Bite Me will not be released until March 25th I will be as vague as possible in this review while still singing it's praises! Livy is a smart and talented aspiring photographer trying to shed the stigma of being the child of a notorious honey badger couple who are shining examples to their equally infamous honey badger extended family. Livy has mostly succeeded until she is pulled into family drama beyond her control and needs the help of tiger/bear shifter Vic Barinov who is on a mission of his own. 

The humor is rampant in this book and you will be left wanting more of the many secondary characters. This is one of those times when I wonder why I let myself get distracted from Laurenston's work and didn't read every last one of the Pride series. I have read all of the Magnus Pack series and enjoyed them all so I will definitely be going back and starting from the beginning of the Pride series. Another thing to love about Laurenston's series of books is that you can read them as stand alone books so if you bounce around the series because you catch one on sale it won't leave you lost. This was a great pick me up during the cold dreary days that we have been having thanks to that no good sadistic Punxsutawney Phil's throwing the kibosh on the whole jumping into Spring thing.  Here's an idea for a story Ms Laurenston. A ground hog shifter who is hated for his/her relation to that low down dirty Phil! Just a thought... 

Happy Reading!

**I received a copy in exchange for an honest review via Netgalley/Kensington Books**


Livy Kowalski has no time for idiots. When you shapeshift into a honey badger, getting through life’s irritants is a finely honed skill. Until she gets stuck housing her nutso cousin and dealing with her dad’s untimely and unexplained demise.

That’s where Vic Barinov comes in—or his house does. Vic can’t step outside without coming back to find Livy devouring his honey stash and getting the TV remote sticky. It gets his animal instincts all riled up. But he’ll have to woo her at high speed: all hell is breaking loose, and Livy is leading the charge...

No comments:

Post a Comment

Find Book Goodness (I'm an Amazon Affiliate!)